top of page

Back Story - 'Framed Differently'


Framed Differently
Framed Differently

This is absolutely one of my most favourite images. It was taken in the first year I started my photography journey and in the same year, the image took out 'Image of the year' in my first camera club.


In 2008 I was given the opportunity to travel to Limoges, South France. Unfortunately, I didn't have much time to spend in Paris, only for a few hours, so it was a bit of a rush to take in most of Paris.


I snapped this image as I rushed back to the airport to catch my flight back home. I didn't think much about this, it was more a keepsake image to commemorate my trip to Paris. Once I converted the photo into Black and White in Photoshop and sharpen it up with a 'High Pass' filter I really started to appreciate the image. Without any knowledge of composition back then I felt I was lucky with this capture.


The reason for the name 'Framed Differently', because it's unlike any other Effiel tower photos. It's not a full-length capture of the tower, and yet anyone would be able to identify the famous architecture.


Technical Details

  • Sony Alpha a100

  • 20mm

  • ƒ/6.3

  • 1/320s

  • ISO 100

bottom of page